UBUNTU Tribe is a collection of remarkable people that believe in UBUNTU’s commitment to multifaceted and sustainable development in Kenya.


What is tribe?

In 2010, we were faced with a challenge: if UBUNTU (then CTC International) was to survive the recession and keep our team and projects both in Kenya and Austin thriving, we needed to get creative. The idea to build a tribe of people was born as much out of a desire to unite a committed group of remarkable people as it was to support UBUNTU’s growth. Members of the UBUNTU Tribe have the unique opportunity to invest in both people and the vision that is creating jobs and sustaining social impact initiatives.


UBUNTU Tribe Members understand that we all have a “stake in the game,” based on our model to produce sustainable businesses. UBUNTU does not run on donations alone, but our departments would not thrive without our Tribe. Every year as our Tribe increases, the income of business like UBUNTU Cafe and UBUNTU Made increase, as well, proving a direct impact and providing even more jobs and opportunities for the community.

Joining the UBUNTU Tribe is easy. Memberships begin at $25 a month (equal to $300 a year).

We love to love our Tribe members! You’ll receive regular communication and stories of the impact that you’re creating on the ground in Kenya, handwritten letters from the people whose lives  you’re now aligned, sneak peeks at new UBUNTU Made products, and you’ll have a voice in our community. When we say we like to listen to our Tribe, we mean it.



TRIBE Members


Wilemon Foundation




The LeRoy Thom, Jean Thom and T-L Foundation, Inc.Thomas and Judith Farrell, James Kimmel, James McDermott, Glen & Corey Melke Hinz


Sandy Garcia, Marjoray Wilemon, Carolyn McDermott, Philip & Michelle Swatzell


Ryan Cox, William Hargrove, Kelli Lawless, Logan and Morgan Overman, Jeffrey and Deanna Serra, Tim Williamson, Barrie Arachtingi, Chris and Audrey Munson, Suzi Sosa, Glenn Sutton, Brendan Starr


Ken & Beth Malcolm, Joel McAlister, Shane & Margaret Reavis, Joe Ross, Ryan and Jacque Scheer, Penni Thow, Kevin Warden, Zane Wilemon, Mary Faye Way, Kelly McNearney, Rebecca Metz & Chris Fiore, Ric & William Bonnell, Carly & Clayton Christopher, Ken and Ladonna Davis, Nathan Dillon, Brooke & Jeff Ezell, Justin Halloran, Samantha Halloran, James Hartye, Robyn Knocke, David and Kelley Lannon, Jennifer Leeth, Rance & Tonie Wilemon, Bob & Cathy Werner


Gary and Debra Amerson, Jeffrey Beaver, Edward and Karen Bezilla, Erin Conley, Lise Harding, Russell Hughes, Valerie Jurgens, Karen Langley, Steve Lauer, Jennifer Leung, Cameron Massey, Darren Melonson, Joshua Neff, Noelle O'Shea, Miranda Peterson, Jackie and Mark Robin, Carla Rose, Joe Warnock, Lindsey Wohlfort, Anne Davison, James and Elaine Slater


Virginia Bosman, Lori McClure, Aude Giannesini, Chad Goldwasser, Samantha Gottlich, Gerald Graham, Joseph Grant, Amanda Gray, Sharon Green, Abbey Gripka, Katy Hackerman, Beth Hadi, Matt Haertner, Sean Hale, Kerry & Dan Hart, Damon Hartye, Mary Anne Hartye, Emily Hartye, Marie & Tom Hartye, Andrew Heckler, Mary & Robert Henderson, Peter Hession, Darian Honigsfeld, Cali Huffman, Vaishali Jadhav, Hamid Javadzadeh-Bijari, Alice Johnston, Amy Keillor, Elaine Kines, Jeremiah Kuria, Jodi Lane, Sandra Lange, Matthew Lawler, Amy Lippincott, Shana Logue, Corky Logue, Chris Logue, Kim Love, Joel Manwill, Kathy Martin, Shanyn McAfee, William McGuire, Tim and Judy Mekkes, Greg Merchant, Sarah Mgeni, Danielle Neff, Seth Olson, Howard and Karen Owen, Lisa Owen, Steven and Shannon Owen, Larry & Terri Pali, Allison Prewitt, Michael, Whitney & Wilson Reardon, Meredith Rogers, Karina Sammons, Pamela Sasche, William Scoular, Ian Steyaert, Lecia Sud, Dudley Van Court, Steve Wanta, Eric Webber, Scott and Onilda Welch, Lauren White, Doug and Jane White, Miles Wilkes, Julie Wilson, Susan Wise, Brio Yiapan, Gregory Zlevor, Amal Safdar, Erin Castaneda, Danelle & Mike Gerber, Amanda Wade, Episcopal Student Center, Lindsay & Grant Parmer, Jeanette Brickman, Ladies Who Brunch, Chip Ross, Carlos Acosta, Sarah Aheron, Kristin Bagonis, Caren Bamberger, Maureen Bamberger, David Barber, Sean Blasko, Eugenie Bolduc, Sarah Brantley, Aaron Bratcher, David Burstein, Briana Carman, Mary Crouch, Michael Del Ponte, Ayesha Dillon, Luke Dillon, Cristina Diodati, Paula D'Onofrio, Cameron Doolittle, Whitney Drury, Shamim Ehsani, Wanda & Kindell Eidson, Linda Eissler, Pauline Forgeard-Grignon